States Test Limits of Abortion Restrictions
Posted at 2:15 p.m. on Jan. 22
On the fortieth anniversary of the Supreme Court’s ruling in Roe v. Wade that lifted many restrictions on abortion, NBC News looks at the growing movement among states to push the envelope on what restrictions are allowed.
“Eight states now require women seeking abortion to have ultrasounds… Three states also enacted laws that require abortion providers to have admitting privileges at a local hospital, which can deny them for a variety of reasons.”
“Louisiana banned abortions after 20 weeks. Utah tripled its mandatory waiting period to 72 hours. A Montana ballot initiative mandated parent notification for abortions on minors under age 16.”
The Economist: “In 2012 states enacted 43 such provisions. In 2011 they passed 92, a record.”